Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Community Foundation awards more than $270,000 in scholarships to local students

The college dreams of many local students got a helping hand recently as the Polk County Community Foundation announced its 2019 scholarships

The college dreams of many local students got a helping hand recently as the Polk County Community Foundation announced its 2019 scholarships

The college dreams of many local students got a helping hand recently as the Polk County Community Foundation announced its 2019 scholarships.

Through the Foundation’s annual competitive awards process, 66 local high school seniors and adults received awards totaling more than $270,000 to pursue higher education opportunities from career and technical education, to bachelor’s degrees and beyond.

Since 1975, the Polk County Community Foundation has been dedicated to improving the quality of life for all in our community. Assets managed by the Community Foundation now exceed $60 million. The Foundation receives charitable donations of all sizes from community members and then distributes grants to local nonprofits and educators as well as scholarships to students.

Many donors to the Foundation have chosen to establish scholarship funds for deserving local students. The Community Foundation is privileged to award the following scholarships to graduating high school seniors and adults going back to school according to the wishes of its donors:

A Leg Up Scholarship, Jack H. Albertson Educational Award, John A. Albertson Educational Award, Margery W. Bain-Franklin Scholarship, Susan P. Barbour Scholarship, Polly C. and Carroll G. Bennett Scholarship, Allan C. & Anne B. Boas Scholarship, Bradley Achievement Award, Bradley Career Training Scholarship, Bradley Puddin’ Hill Award, Bradley Village Support Award, G. Freeman and Elizabeth M. Brooks Scholarship, Sara & Henry Burrus Scholarship, J. Harwood Cochrane Educational Award, John Lewis Craddock Educational Award, Gordon L. Foote Educational Award, Stuart and Margaret L. Forbes Scholarship, Annette W. Hysham Scholarship, Phil J. Hysham Scholarship, Kirby Endowment Fund Back-to-School Scholarship for Adults, Kirby Endowment Scholarship for College Students, John G. Landrum, Jr. Educational Award, Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent Scholarship, Bert & Harriet Marsh Scholarship, James A. & Renée R. McDermott Scholarship, Hoyt D. & Tyler B. McEntire Scholarship, Nathaniel M. & Constance J. McIntyre Memorial Scholarship, Jessica Lauren Mills Memorial Scholarship, N. Elizabeth Nash Scholarship, Arthur M. Nelson Scholarship, William F. & Claire B. Nelson Scholarship, R. Shaw Pettigrew Scholarship, Pettit Scholarship, Edward E. & Suzanne K. Plumly Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Annual Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Endowed Scholarship, Polk County Community Foundation Merit Award, Lelia G. Rainey Nursing Scholarship, The Restart Scholarship, Priscilla and Ellis D. Slater Merit Scholarship Award, Dudley Smith Educational Award, David P. & Barbara Stayman Educational Award, G. Mildred Steinbach and John F. Steinbach Scholarship, Tryon Riding & Hunt Club Scholarship, Tryon Youth Center Scholarship, Tryon Youth Center Career Training Scholarship, Guilford S. Turner, Jr. Educational Award, Joseph Anthony & Adair McIntyre Wagner Scholarship, Tony Wallace Scholarship, Jane Hysham Willis Scholarship, N.W. Willis Scholarship, Frances O. & John W. Wilson Restart Scholarship, Robert & Nancy Worsnop Scholarship.

Thanks to these generous donors, all Foundation awards are a minimum of $1,000 and the maximum scholarships in 2019 are renewable awards worth $16,000. The Community Foundation is honored to help fulfill these donors’ wishes and would like to congratulate the entire class of 2019 and the following recipients of this year’s awards:

Reese Alley, Alexis Aponté, Cortney Ashley, Kiri Ashley, Isabella “Bella” Bowen, Brittany Bradley, Bethany Bruce, Taylor Burnett, John Cantrell, Tatianna Carey, Natalee Davis, John “Jack” Derkach, Avery Edwards, Christian Etherson, Grant Finch, Jesus “Antonio” Garcia, Regan Gordon, Ashlyn Green, Timothy Heider, Mary “Katie” Henneke, Walter “Grant” Hilsman, Emily Hodge, Melanie Huizar-Parada, Izabella Jackson, Kalob Jackson, Alyssa “Leon” LaFay, Makayla Lail, Zachary Lambert, Bailey Lowman, Ansley Lynch, Cooper Massengill, John Mauldin, Benjamin “Benny” McCraw, Hosanna Miller, Javontae “Tae” Miller, Demoi Millett, Ailish “Ailey” Morlino, Matthew Mullis, Helena Netschytailo, Taylor Newton, Abigail Orlando, Sarah “Alexis” Phillips, Clark Phipps, Caleb Potter, Margaret “Maggie” Powell, Citlalli Ramirez-Camacho, Rachel Raposa, Brandon Ridings, Evan Rimer, Julianna Robbins, Israel Román, Mary Grace Rountree, Galen Sachse, Aislin Salerno, Michael “Luke” Sellers, Stephanie Serrano, Aria Shields, Jillian Snyder, Morgan Stott, Elijah Sutton, Caley Tessnear, Juniper Walter-Eger, Hannah Watkins, Nicholas Wilson, Jonah Wyatt, and Jordan Wyatt.

For more information about scholarships, grants or charitable giving options, please contact the Polk County Community Foundation by visiting 255 South Trade Street in Tryon, calling (828) 859-5314, or visiting

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All content copyright © Polk County Schools